An Ode To Food

Standard

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am no connoisseur of your sophistication
I have no mastery of your art
I am not even close to being skilled in your preparation

But I understand well your consumption

How my tongue burns at your sight
My mouth salivates in your presence
As you stare me in the face
Beautiful and appealing

To the eyes
To the mouth
To my guts

Whether I have you with the best Sauvignon Blanc
Club soda so dry
Or even with plain still water
You are always the main attraction

The object of my appetite’s affection
Be it from a street vendor
Or the best cafes on
Avenue Des Champs Élysées

You satisfy my hunger
Give my stomach fulfillment
And leave me delectably pleased

Oh how sweet and savory you can be
Teasing my palates

Oh how spicy and sour you sometimes are
Pleasing my mouth
And filling me up

And when our time is done
Food
Oh yummy food
Delighter of my mouth
Nourishment for my being

I love that I can burn the caloric intake
Of your power
On my big and steady machine lover

19 responses »

Leave a Reply

