I Have Often

Standard

I have often danced to the tune of zero music
My hips swaying fast to the rhythm of my pulsating heart

I have dined with no palates or foods
Empty white plates reflecting hunger stains
In those dark powerless nights

I have cried to pain yet unborn
Fear building up for reasons unexplained
Eyes twitching back & forth to the crawl of strange superstitions

I have danced to the tune of zero music
Many a nights in the chaos of my world
Life playing tricks with my mental health

22 responses »

  1. “I have cried for pains yet unborn…
    Fear building up for reasons unexplained”
    Very often in life, we are bothered about things that may never occur.
    Very lovely poem as always.
    You are gifted with words! :)

  2. Boomie: this is a brilliant poem. I particularly like the second verse.

    I don’t so much like the last line, just because “mental health” is a category from another kind of world. “with my (something) mind” would read better for me. Scared mind?

Leave a Reply

