I Am But 5

Standard

Life tells me I am getting old
Everyday a reminder
Gray hairs in places most unimaginable
Backs bent from days of toil and aggression
Many miles run in hopes of staying young
Stress worry and ache all about
Dreams of yesteryears dwindling fast with each tick pulled by tock
I wonder where my childhood went…
… Where did age 15 go?

Yet somewhere a new adventure awaits
Chubby faces and hearty smiles
Telling me I am but 5
The most proper guest at Tuesday evening tea parties
Graceful cheers and raised pinkies remind me
I have still a whole life ahead of me
My age just some marked up number between 1 and more

6/3/13 11:51pm

17 responses »

  1. Boomie,

    I still say “yay” for running. But I am even more enthusiastic for being at peace with where you are now and not trying to live in the past or the future. It is great to have you post again!

    -Soul Walker

Leave a Reply

