Memories On When Our Hearts Skipped Twice

Standard

Memories on When Our Hearts Skipped Twice

We danced to the blues once
On nights when our hearts tapped twice
…Broken into many pieces
Our hearts skipped with each beat

The rhythm of each beat was the echo of our times
Like slaves we were shackled
…Shackled to the pulse of the blows
Gyrating our hips with every pull of the string
Puppet minions our bodies were

The blues was made for us
Our minds knew it all too well
So our bodies couldn’t help itself…
It moved…
It moved swiftly every time it heard the harmonic structure

Reminding many of a time once
…in New Orleans

11/7/13 2:00pm
Edited 11/27/2013 10:49 am. I smiled wide after editing this poem…I think I finally saw what I was trying to portray in my mind on screen. It felt good, and so I smiled wide…I smiled loud.

About boomiebol

Finding me- I have always played it safe, too unsure and timid for my good. Now, I have decided to come out of my shell, open myself up to life, and my purpose, and share my writings; I hope I find an honest audience. My writings are based on my realities, my dreams, and my very wild fantasies. I hope you like them. Happy reading!

38 responses »

Leave a Reply

