Come Sunday Morning

Standard

I grew up in a Christian home and so church was not optional. We had to be there every Sunday, and on time. Dad was always in hurry, and we never were. We thought if we stalled long enough, he would leave with mom, and we could avoid church that Sunday. Every Sunday, my siblings and I tried, every Sunday we failed. For come Sunday morning, we must be ready for church.

Come Sunday Morning.

On this particular day of the week
I must be up earlier than usual
Perhaps even before the sun rises
For come Sunday morning
We must be ready for church

My clothes must be pressed
From the night before
My shoes no doubt shined
For come Sunday morning
We must be ready for church

Sade must be all dressed
Her hair together in a braid
Toast and jam packed in her bag
For come Sunday morning
We must be ready for church

All three daughters must be set
Mother must be dressed
Father’s tea brewed and poured
For come Sunday morning
We must be ready for church

5 responses »

  1. It’s another Sunday today, Boomie. I am sure you, and your angels are all dressed beautifully 😊 kiss them for me 😊 you’re a wonderful mom, an amazing woman really😊

    • Thank you Aina for going back to my very old posts and showing them some love :). Yes, they like Sundays cos they get to dress up, thankfully for them mommy likes to dress them up :). Will do and many thanks for this kind comments

      • Your welcome 😊 I loved Sundays too when I was a little for the same reasons. Plus, my mom treat us to the best fried chicken place in town. And we’re three girls, all dressed so nicely for the church and fried chicken too. 😄😄

Leave a Reply

