English Chap (Faithful Old Lover)

Standard

I am in need of
Amusement
Perhaps pleasure
I am in need of…

Something

I check my pad
4 old lovers
And counting

I flipped through names
what a delight

And to think I had been bored
for days
Longing
Aching
Yearning
and waiting
for this tide of boredom to turn

I decide on an old favorite
An English chap
I’ve always had a thing
For those sorts

This particular lad has a way
with words

I am a sucker for words

This bloke never disappoints
He would satisfy me
No doubt

I flipped my pad
Giddy with teenage excitement
bustling with anticipation

Ready- steady- go

Page 1 of 726
Jeffrey Archer’s
“As The Crow Flies”

6 responses »

  1. The rhythm, syntax, and line breaks in this piece make my poetry mouth water. My favorite moment in this poem happens here:

    “I flipped through names
    what a delight

    And to think I had been bored
    for days
    Longing
    Aching
    Yearning
    and waiting
    for this tide of boredom to turn”

    Nicely done. Thank you for sharing.
    ~RDS

Leave a Reply

