I Could…

Standard

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Today,

I could write about achy hearts
And sad loneliness
For they abound everywhere

I could write about dreams not coming true
And I tell you it’s all I think of lately

I could write about loss and missing loved ones
God knows I do
Every waking second
Every lonely moment

I could write about the many aches
Plagues, sorrows and misfortunes of society
Perhaps I would be right to do so

I could write about sex and love
Accompanied by nights of pleasurable lusts
And endless passions
I know I would get a good response
And I do like that

Today,

I could write about everything
And anything

But instead today,
I choose to close my eyes
Breathe in deeply
And count my many blessings
Big and small

Today,
I will count my blessings

Won’t you join me by counting yours?

20 responses »

  1. We are truly blessed abundantly by the Lord everyday. You my new friend are blessed with abundant talent !

    • Thank you!!! That would be my dream come true :). If you know of any editors or publishers willing to look at my work, please pass along or better yet let me know :). Thanks again for stopping by. Hugs

  2. Blessings abound. Look around. Nice poem prompts audience participation. Have you noticed we have the same theme & background colors for our blogsites: Matala by Nicolo Volpato? Coincidences are rather curious, don’t you think? poeticlicensee.wordpress.com

    • Oh yea…True story this morning, I kept thinking there is a post I follow that has the same theme as mine :). Thanks for always stopping by. I just read your post “To Have And To Hold”, Kudos on the post. Well written

  3. I can’t think of the new word for a photographic essay, but your accompanying photos are close. This is a very well-written poem. It’s measured and controlled and contains a universal truth. Can’t get better than that. I like this one a lot.

    • Thank you so much for the kind words. I tried to portray a message with the pictures, they were from some posts I had done before. There really is so much to be thankful for, the opportunity to share my words, the kindness of readers like you, and the friendship that is forged through mediums like this. Thank you always for stopping by, hope your weekend is off to a great start :).

Leave a Reply

