Attack And Defend

Standard

The plan was to post something light and heartfelt today. I worked on it again last night with a picture to compliment. That was the plan. But I guess plans never get the superiority when there are more pending and heart breaking issues at hand.

I woke up this morning and just like last week; there were reports of bombings in the Northern part of Nigeria. I am Nigerian, and so there was no way I could ignore that. I responded to a tweet my cousin wrote about it. I felt his pain… and I imagined how the people who were directly affected would feel.

I love Nigeria, always have, and always will. I hate the government we are left with time and time again. Empty promises, lies and downright brutes they all have been, and continue to be.

They say the opposite of love is not hate but rather indifference, again I say I love Nigeria, I hate our government, but I refuse to be indifferent about the situation my beloved Nigerians find themselves. They really hoped this time there would be a change, except it’s gone from bad to worse in less time under the current regime. A civilian bully is what this current administration is.

They sit down in their bullet proof cars, and staggering mansions, while the people who elected them are being slaughtered into limbs and heads on the streets. We have become puns in the hands of these animals masquerading as leaders.
It is time we spoke out about their raging lunacy and downright wickedness. It is time we arise in defend of Nigeria. It is time we attack and defend. (Please bear with my rants and long post this morning, my heart simply hurts for a country I love)

Words found me this morning and responded to my hurting heart, and so I wrote this-

We have no weapons of mass destruction
We carry no guns or firearms
We have no bombs or explosive devices
We are not in the least bit skilled in our aim to attack
Still we will attack

Attack and defend for our nation
Attack and defend for our children
Attack and defend for their future

No longer will we sit silent
While sadistic evil rules and triumphs
No longer will we be oppressed by our so- called “leaders”
No longer will we let injustice prevail

We will strip them bare and naked
Shame them publicly and overseas
We will call attention to their long time greed
And continued indifference laced with madness
We will shame and expose them for what they really are

We will take back our country and protect our land
We will fight for our lives and that of our children
We will arise united as compatriots for our beloved

And even though we have no weapons of mass destruction
We will attack with our pen
Our words and
The cries of our heart
We will attack with all we have

And after our attack
We will defend with our hearts
Our words and
Our might

A generation has risen
A generation has come

A generation that will attack
A generation that will defend
We will attack and defend

21 responses »

  1. I am so sorry for the anguish you are suffering, but most of all for the people of your country. I have no other words but to say with many many prayers miracles happen and I will pray and ask others to as well. God Bless you so much and with your permission I would like to post this on my fb page.

    • Thank you so much. It is such a shame that in this very new age, we Africans continue to treat ourselves with such wickedness and greed. Amen, and yes please with all pleasure. Thank you for the kind comments and prayers.

    • Thanks Mira and Amen to the prayers. I have peace in and out. However, I refuse to stay silent while innocent people are killed in the name of religion and other inexcusable causes, and the govt elected to protect them is ignorant to the plight of its people. I couldn’t live with myself if I did.

    • Amen!!! Neither can I…it’s so heartbreaking and painful because the govt that is supposed to protect them, is doing absolutely nothing about it. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. We in Ghana are so alarmed at what is happening in Nigeria. You are our neighbours and whatever happens over there can have ripple effect here. My thoughts and prayers are with you and we can only pray for an end to this nightmare. Indeed, Africa must wake up!

    • Very true, but I pray not. Indeed we must, I believe strongly we are the cause of our own problems, too much self ambitious citizens. Thanks for stopping by and for the follow. Have a great week.

    • Thank you Scott!!! It’s unfortunate the situation Nigerians find themselves, and the govt is sitting back with folded arms on over sized bellies doing nothing to protect its people. Terrible shame and sad. We are our own enemies in Africa, too concerned about ourselves to worry about others, and the bigger picture. Tragic Shame

  3. Nigeria leaves me sad and constantly in a depressed state…. like you, i love my dear country too, but her government? they leave me very very weak

  4. This was beautifully written as always. I cannot begin to mention how many times I have sat down to think of all the injustice going on in our Nigeria. I try so hard to hate it but I’ve realised with time that I cannot hate my own heart. Nigeria is in my heart always and no matter what goes on there, it will always be home. I hope our generation will be the trail blazer for our country. You can check out a few other posts on this issue on my blog, they are called ‘away’ and ‘headlines’. The ‘blessing effiong’ stor might also interest you- just google ‘blessing effiong’. Take care x

    • Thank you Eniola, I feel you completely…I will be by on your blog later in the day to check out the posts…and many thanks for taking time to read, comment and share suggestions. Have a lovely weekend dear. Hugs

  5. Boomie–Yes! Powerful, and full of justifiable anger. Sorry for your pain and the senseless violence and greed. I have to believe justice and common sense eventually will prevail. Until then, you have my prayers.

Leave a Reply

