I Wonder

Standard

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Oftentimes I wonder if God
Sees our hurts

I wonder if He sees
The hunger and famine
The devastations and
Heart wrenching afflictions

I wonder if He understands our plights
As many of us are
Poor and impoverished
Captive and bullied

Some
Downtrodden with rejection and
Hate from every side

I wonder if some will get a pass
After enduring years of
Slavery and brutality
Rape and abuse
Coupled with all manner of violence
Sometimes at the hands of “loved” ones

I wonder if He hears the cry of a babe
At the sound of hunger ravishing
His (her) AIDS ridden body
As mother wastes away in a hut
After several years of
Physical and mental
Emotional and sexual
Turmoil and abuse
Aggravated further by
An oppressive government

Oftentimes

I wonder
About the many wars
As children are slaughtered
And humans are burnt
In the name of religion
And holy war

I wonder about
How we hurt and harm
Ourselves
Time and again
Sometimes for no
Good reason

I wonder about the many
Ails and evils that abound
All around

I know He sees and hears
Still
Often times than not
My weary heart thinks deeply
I can’t help myself and so…

I wonder

23 responses »

    • I agree with you. Sometimes, my big head can’t take all the thinking and worrying anylonger and I break down and cry. My heart prays always for these parts of the world, that peace will find them all soon.

  1. Really deep and thought provoking poem. There is so much devastation in the world and and at the same time immense beauty it leaves one baffled as to what kind of world we live in. My latest post also engaged in this same theme as yours. Thanks for the shared sentiment.

  2. What you just described is one of the reasons it took me so long to embrace faith. Beautiful poem whose questions are enough to make a person go insane if dwelled on for too long.

    • I can understand and imagine it, I was born and brought up Christian but as I have grown older, I have more questions than answers and I think that in itself is the mystery of our faith. I leave it all in the Creators hands and hope one day soon peace will fill our world. Thanks for taking time to read and comment.

    • You and me both Resa. I am still wondering, and hope that someday very soon, they will find hope and peace, perfect peace. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Have a lovely day

  3. The Catholics have a song that with the words “Where is our God, in whom we Trust?” He is there, if only we seek Him, we will find HIm. A very thought provoking and deep poem, Boomie. You’re wonderful!

  4. Boomie, like many above, I wonder as well. I don’t have an answer — just the hope that all the helpless and all the victims of the incomprehensible actions inflicted upon them, will one day shine in glory — totally free from pain, fear, and horror.

    I want to make sure that I am not one of those guilty of inflicting.

    Thank you for visiting my blog, too.

Leave a Reply

