A Dedication

Standard

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For finding me after
Years of aimless toiling and seeking
Academic pursuits that yielded nothing
But
Empty degrees with nothing to show
Except piling bills called student loans

For giving me purpose after
Years of seeking and never finding
Living through others and their ideals

Pursuing vacuous dreams and unhappy paths
Wishing to be other than myself
Never really knowing my strength
And so trying my hands at things
Anything and everything
That left only me bruised
Used and confused

I dedicate this to words

For loving me despite my
Many inadequacies at
Capturing its abilities
Effectively and
Proficiently

Not showcasing
Its power and appeal
As deserved

For whispering in dreams and
Long drives
And waiting patiently when
I am caught off guard

For finding me after I thought all
Was lost and
I was sinking faster
Than a capsizing ship

For loving me
Unrefined and
Unlearned

This is dedicated to words

For giving me an outlet
To express myself
When my looks failed
And my voice trembled

For finding and using me
Me again and
Again
And then some more

This is a dedication to you words-

My passion and heartfelt desire

20 responses »

  1. This is so creative, heartfelt, and inspiring. It’s quite possibly my favorite of yours…so far! Your dedication to words is similar to how I feel about writing (my blog), too. I am going through some challenges and communicating with you and other blogger friends makes life a little brighter. Thank you! 🙂

    • Thanks Nicole. It’s amazing how friendship and a community can be built in the most unusual places, I have enjoyed your posts and very kind comments. I got your book via kindle yesterday and once this hectic week is over, I will dive into it. Thanks always for stopping by, still keep you and yours in my prayers and thoughts. All will be well. Stay strong and blessed. Sending hugs and love your way 🙂

  2. ah lass you are a mistress of words…. reeling the reader in, touching emotions, bringing us into your world with your magic..thank you dear friend! hugzz{{}}

  3. And here I was thinking this was a dedication to “someone” not “something”. Can’t wait to read your other dedication then… or has it already been written?
    This is absolutely brilliant. Love it. Thanks for sharing your gift.

  4. And here I was thinking this was a dedication to “someone” not “something”. Can’t wait to read your other dedication then… or has it already been written?
    This is absolutely brilliant. Love it. Thanks for sharing your gift.

    Bayuze

Leave a Reply

