Guilty As Charged

Standard
Guilty As Charged

They make news
National news
Sometimes even global news

Parading the streets of Paris
London and Milan
New York City is their
Playground
So and so now branded
So-so

They get media attention
Worldwide coverage
After 100 hours of fantasy
Or marital display
It’s all over the news
And we can’t get enough

Yet
In street corners and
Global villages
Many die daily
From hunger and famine
Diseases and devastation
Children and younglings
Perish from thirst

But they don’t get any notice
At best they are mentioned
In sheer apathy

And why should they get
Any attention or any
Recognition

What have they to offer us?
What have they done
For you or me?

Why should we care or
Give a damn
Who dies in Sudan today
Or whose son is caught
In the gang misfire on
Chicago’s Southside

How about those Ugandan kids
I don’t know them
Do you?

Except
So-so offers nothing either

At best they give us
Foolish fantasies and
Unrealistic realities
Parading their wealth
And latest worldly gains
And that is good enough
For media attention

Thus denying coverage to
The very deserving and a
Possibly perishing generation

But what do I know myself
I am guilty as charged
I am guilty of this sin

I am guilty of
Keeping up with the Kardashians

43 responses »

    • Always…it’s such a shame too. I have no issues with the Kardashian clan infact I respect their hustle…but do we need to feed into their world…thanks always. Hope you are feeling better today…have a lovely friday.

  1. Pop culture is what defines the norm for most & deemed totally acceptable. We all fall guilty of such acts but with consciousness comes growth & understanding. Nice post. Keep up the awesome work….Yep!

    Peace!…with 2 fingers;)

  2. Powerfully said, from the depths of your heart, reflecting all the anguish of Africa and even elsewhere. But who cares? Boomie, your voice must be heard beyond the screen. Well done.

  3. I have to admit I don’t have a TV so I don’t watch much… but people certainly don’t require accomplishments to elevate someone to celebrity status.

    • I don’t blame you for not watching…I try not to let my little ones watch tv…maybe occassional veggie tales and stuff. Yes not a lot is required these days to be a celebrity…unfortunately society buys into the status and makes them role models and the young ones get it all wrong…Thanks for stopping by, have a great weekend.

  4. fantancy lulls the apathy of humans
    media works for commercial
    rest is the duty of world organisations
    what is left for us to do ….. except living in dreams……….is the mentality of common man.

    very heart touching poem.
    with regards
    advocatemmmohan

  5. People feel trapped by the media and its nonsense and propaganda, but they still watch the commercial TV stations, the magazines, etc. Why??? Very few just shut off the TV. Or seek true information about what’s going on in the world.Still, we all have free choice.

    • I guess we are sold into the silliness…I see some things on tv and I wonder why the people doing it actually do it…why stoop so low just for fame that isn’t really fame, considering they only get at best “15 mins” but the damage to their character is done. Like you rightly said, we all have free choice

      • Correcto. I’ll tie it in to the post I did today Let My People Go. The Jewish prayer book for Passover very clearly states that the Exodus is not just a historical reality, but one we go through ourselves in every generation, every year. So today’s Pharoah is Facebook, Fox News, NBC, American Idol, and (OK) Fox News again.

      • You are so right…it’s our Pharoah. I read your post earlier and brought back memories of my dad playing the movie the 10th commandment for us all as kids :). Good times

  6. I am guilty of
    Keeping up with the Kardashians

    I can’t go that far but have to say that all the music and dance shows are a draw as well as Hockey of course – je suis Canadienne – Balance is what makes us human, temptation is just a part of the balance. I forgive you :))) and at the same time love the way you expressed the apathy that plagues us all sometimes.

  7. Popular culture is fun & entertaining; however, that you recognize the tragedies & tribulations in the world & the media’s misdirected credit & inattention to those tragedies & tribulations is a credit to you for having achieved the grand status of human being in possession of, not just sympathy, but empathy, as well…

    • Thank you so much as always…i wish i could rid myself completely of the foolishness and someday use my time more wisely. Hope you are having a great weekend

  8. This one captures every detail from geography to places of streets. Loved it. Loved the truth. A fresh voice.

Leave a Reply

