I Allow Myself

Standard

Image Courtesy of cliveshome.blogspot.com

I do not call myself a poet
I don’t say I am a writer
It is not insecurity
I just don’t know if I am qualified
Or experienced enough
To be called one

However there is one thing
I do know
My heart flutters
And my insides are joyful
When the thoughts form
And the words come together
Immortalized by pen on paper
Or from fingers to screen

I do not call myself a poet
But on days like this
When I can’t stop the flow
Passion raging on my insides
As words form and
Dance before my eyes
I can’t help but wonder…

Does Ms. Giovanni ever feel like this?
Did Mr. Bukowski experience this?
How about my hero Professor Soyinka?

For if they did
Then I must be a poet
A writer or something
Not of their caliber
But still a poet and writer
Of some sort

And for a few minutes
I allow myself the thought of being one
I allow myself to be called a writer
And a poet

* I am by no means comparing myself to any of these great writers…but they are some of the writers I admire and look up to and they came to mind when I wrote this…and I am a huge fan of their works*

50 responses »

    • Ha ha Resa…gotta love ya. You are so right…for an African chic i sure am a terrible dancer lol…i have no rhythm lol. Love this comment, thanks so much lol.

  1. You’re a poet precisely because you don’t try. You write a poem in a few minutes that would take a “crafter” days to compose. That’s writing from within. An important distinction. 🙂

  2. You are a poet, Boomie. We are all humans because we experience emotions. And these need to be expressed. This is your form of expression and it is beautiful, and I know it only reflects the soul of the writer. 😉

  3. I looove this piece. I identify with this write up so much cos i wear d same shoes as you bee…but i still think you are a fantastic writer

  4. Boomie, i looooove dis piece cos im wearing same shoes as you are……but you are a fantastic writer and a half,no doubt about it.

  5. You’re a writer, all right. You write poems. I avoid the term “poet” myself because it comes with such baggage, like “artist”. People can be mean, peddle hatred or lies, and excuse themselves by these words. It so often sounds like a claim to be above mere mortals. You and I write things. The things you write are good – and often inspired.

    The only one of your three I’ve read is Soyinka!

    • Thank you so much. I have to say that you are my biggest supporter on here, and I truly appreciate that :). I agree the word poet just seems too “complicated” (for lack of a better term) for me. Plus i think often times my words are very simple not masked in anyway…i can hardly write metaphorically, dont’t know if that is a good or bad thing. Thanks again.

      Yes, I love Wole Soyinka…Charles Bukowski is an American classic… honestly I just found out about him when i started writing on wordpress and checked him out, a lot of people like him. Nikki Giovanni i truly love, i have been reading her a lot lately.

  6. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say superb blog!

    • I am being dealing with the same for most part of the day. I found this in the spam box…so sorry about that. many thanks for stopping by and taking time to comment.

Leave a Reply

