The Dream- Friday Fictioneers 6/15

Standard

Every Wednesday visit Madison Wood’s site to see the picture prompt for the week’s 100-word writing challenge. Write a 100-word story or poem that’s inspired by the picture. Post the writing on your blog. On Friday post a link to your blog entry in the comments section of her Friday Fictioneers post.

So after my first attempt last Friday, I decided to do another one. As usual please let me know what you think, and feel free to join in.

Andrea loved playing hide and seek, but this was getting scary. Her uncle Tim was being strange again, he had been once before and smacked her. Andrea never told her mommy because he had threatened to hurt them.

“I don’t want to play anymore, the woods are scaring me.” She cried “Can we go home now?”

“Just a little further” Tim replied, Andrea wanted her mommy and started to scream in panic, something felt wrong and she was scared…

Allison woke up drenched…she reached for her phone and dialed officer Watts…”I know where my daughter is…”

65 responses »

  1. Ah! I’ve got a huge smile! Not that I like creepy uncles or nothing…, but the story comes together perfectly. This is very different for you… Tells a huge story in so little words. And you leave nothing out. Good job! Love it!

      • Hahaha! Me is fine, just a little busy with studies, but I can’t leave blogging altogether y’know. There’s so much yet to discover. I see though that you’re getting better with every new post you make. Yay!

      • Thank you so much :). I appreciate that, glad you are doing great and kicking studies in its big behind :). Yea, I am sure you can manage both quite well. Hugs me dear and have a lovely weekend!!!

  2. Definitely evokes strong emotions ! Its amazing how you just did that with so few words. I also find it funny how mind just fills in the rest of the “story” !

  3. I hope Uncle Tim and the daughter are rescued. See, I believe the story was based in 1950s. Hitting was a more common practice at the time, so I don’t put much thought into that. What I do fear is that Uncle Tim developed a mental disorder from his time in WWII. He gets flashbacks and goes pouncing through the woods as if he can navigate through it all. It is a common misconception that he experiences often. The mother realizes this and calls in before they travel too far and are lost, or worse.

    All these other people hating on Uncle Tim…They don’t even know. He is a victim of the times.

    • Oh my you are so crazy it’s good. lol, you have me holding my tummy in here from lauging so hard…I like your take on this one lol…I am reading the comment again and i can’t control the laughs…thank you sir!!!

  4. Wow mistery I really love it, I would love to know what happens. I don’t know why but it makes me think of a book called Lonely Bones, I read that before it even became a movie or it was popular and it has that sort of cold, scary tone to it and I love it because I could not put it doing. I love how you work with the whole thing.

    • Thanks for stopping by…honestly I don’t know if i want to pursue it unless something positive comes to mind…i don’t want to end it in horror. Going over to yours now

  5. That was sooo intense, and yeah, not pleasant, but I’ll sleep knowing mom made the ‘connection’. Whew.

    • Ha ha ha…ok just let the poem stay in your mind ok…forget you read this. It’s just when I saw the picture, something about a mother dreaming came to me.
      Thanks for reading both 🙂

  6. Lady D and I are too old to read this stuff. It scared me. I hate that stuff, Boomie. It’s brilliantly done, but I still hate it. I’m not generally afraid of anything, but that creepy stuff gets me! 🙂 And, you’re so damn good at telling it too. This flash fiction thing … you got it down good. I’m smiling. 🙂 BUT, I’m gonna’ stick to the wonderful poetry if you don’t mind. 😉

      • Has it been this long that I’ve been away? June 16, it was! What I been meaning to tell you is that I figured out who this reminds me of. Have you read Nora Zeale Hurston’s (sp) novel, “The Bluest Eye”? She does precisely what you do here. Like Hurston, you have that ability to force us to look into the dark heart. A very few writers can effectively and credibly write about the existence of such evil. We don’t want to acknowledge it, much less have to face it. You do it so well. Interesting. There is some extraordinary poetry between this post and your last. You only get better, Boomie.

      • Thank you so much, i sure have to check the book out. Never heard of her :). Great to “see” you here. Have a great month of july. Thanks always and big hugs

Leave a Reply

