I Want To Write A Poem

Standard

I want to write a poem…

A poem that would lull infants
To sweet dreams slumber
Gently kissing their sweet heads

A poem that would refresh
A weary and heavy soul
Like ice cold water
In a dry and desert land

I want to write a poem
That would make the sad
Laugh
Laugh hard
And laugh loud
Tummy aching
On every side

I want to write a poem
One of love and joy
Love once lost
Now found
Joy unleashed
Hand in hand
New and reunited lovers
Together now walk

I want to write a poem
A poem that unifies
Bringing all walks of life
From every corner of the world
Together
Hate not welcome
Love and acceptance
Tolerance and compassion
All fully embraced

I want to write a poem
That opens the eyes of the world
To the beauty around them
Birds that sings
Rivers that flow
Snow that falls on
Mountain peaks from high

I want to write a poem
A poem that appeals to human nature
Leaves a lasting impact
And makes you glad
It came across your mind

I want to write a poem
One that makes you smile
And warms your heart
Real tight

I want to write a poem…

56 responses »

    • Thank you always Cestone, have a wonderful weekend. I finally found a book at the library that has one of the Bessie Head’s stories, it was the only one they had :).

  1. I want to write a poem too.
    Perhaps to change the world
    Or just a smile on one poor face
    In a dreary day.
    I want to write a poem that flies
    And takes the weak above the earth
    And on and up they’ll fly away
    From all their troubles here.
    I want to write a poem that lasts
    And not because it breaks a heart
    But mends and lifts and fills with joy
    The souls of those that falter here.
    I want to write a line that sings
    A song the lost thought never could–
    never could be sung again
    I want to write that song.
    I want to write a poem that frees
    The slave inside their own heart
    That breaks the chains that hold them down
    And brings them up again.
    I want to write a poem myself
    And sing it with my last breath
    and know that I am free at last
    and that the words were true.

    • I was blown away when i read this….just beyond beautiful. Very well written, very well done. And i think you have just written the poem you described above…this lifted my heart and just made me glad…Thank you so much for sharing this, you should totally share this on your blog…it is so well written.

  2. Pingback: A Poem Written in Response to, “I Want To Write a Poem.” Guest Blog « Boomie Bol

Leave a Reply

