A Poem Written in Response to, “I Want To Write a Poem.” Guest Blog

Standard

I want to write a poem too.

Perhaps to change the world
Or just a smile on one poor face
In a dreary day.

I want to write a poem that flies
And takes the weak above the earth
And on and up they’ll fly away
From all their troubles here.

I want to write a poem that lasts
And not because it breaks a heart
But mends and lifts and fills with joy
The souls of those that falter here.

I want to write a line that sings
A song the lost thought never could–
never could be sung again
I want to write that song.

I want to write a poem that frees
The slave inside their own heart
That breaks the chains that hold them down
And brings them up again.

I want to write a poem myself
And sing it with my last breath
and know that I am free at last
and that the words were true.

-Soul Walker

Addendum:

I wrote this poem in response to Boomie’s “I Want To Write a Poem.” She published that poem on this blog on August 24th, 20012. This was the first anniversary of my own blog. I was so taken by her poem that I wrote this the next day. You are a treasure Boomie.

36 responses »

Leave a Reply

