Love but first yourself

Standard

It’s a brand new week. And the events of the last week has left many tired, sad, perhaps even weak… I am one of the many. I missed my workouts 3 days in a row…

Seriously though, the last week has brought revelation and awareness like never before… 
However  it is a brand new week, and tired, sad, weak, and let down as we might feel, we have to find the strength to pick ourselves up…

It doesn’t negate our disappointment but it helps to feel better…

Here’s my challenge to us this week… LOVE

Yes simple dumb be the bigger person positive Love…

But Love like we perhaps have not thought or acknowledged…

See, the basis of the Christian walk is Love… it’s what the manual of our faith, the Bible commands…

Love first for God, and then for our neighbors like ourselves…

See the expectation is that we love our neighbors like that neighbor was us… this means we should already love ourselves…

However, I don’t think we do… at least not like we should…

So here’s the unusual challenge this week… love yourself…

Look in the mirror, and love yourself absolutely with pride, and without fear…

As simple as this sounds, many of us are not able to…

Loving yourself means you are content but not complacent, you are kind, and considerate but not a pushover, you are meticulous but not anxious… you are unbothered by the noise that tries to pull you down

This week plan to love you…understand the true definition of love, and apply it to yourself…

Over the next few weeks as you genuinely love yourself, loving your neighbor will start to align…

xoxo

About boomiebol

Finding me- I have always played it safe, too unsure and timid for my good. Now, I have decided to come out of my shell, open myself up to life, and my purpose, and share my writings; I hope I find an honest audience. My writings are based on my realities, my dreams, and my very wild fantasies. I hope you like them. Happy reading!

6 responses »

  1. Since my stroke in 2010, I have been struggling with the feelings I have that put me first so much. I thought they were selfish, but am not realizing they are just me learning to love myself. The reset of my brain from the stroke kinda gave me permission to do things a bit differently.
    You are right; we need, absolutely need, to love ourselves. We still need to love and help others, but that self-love is so important.

  2. I’ve been living in the truth of this for thirty years. It changed my world to realise the ‘as yourself’ part was vital. Not a glorified self-inflated love but one based, as much as possible, on how God sees you – weak and frail but utterly loved by him. When I have felt down and bitter about myself I have always been held by this truth 🙂

Leave a Reply

